Becoming the Living Poet

Hello World – Now I Have a Personal Blog

Posted on: April 18, 2009

I was going to delete the default blog post title, but it seems so appropriate, so I decided to just build off of it. I might even leave the first comment just for the hell of it.

Wow, I’m really going to start a personal blog! I’ve been running my company’s business blog for two years now, but I’ve never had a blog to call my own. I’m not so great at doing things for myself and being consistent about it. I’m the kind of person who is very good pretty darn good about being there for other people, but not so consistent about being there for myself, about even making it a priority.

But I’ve been thinking if I can’t take time to do things just for me, like allow myself to write the poem I want to write even if I’m terrified it’ll be too embarrassing to show to anyone else, then I’m not going to be a very good poet. I finally got accepted to an MFA program and yet I feel crippled by writer’s block and perfectionism. What if I’m not good enough to be in an MFA program? What if they let me in by mistake? My feverish mind interrogates me.

A couple of weeks ago I discovered Havi Brooks at The Fluent Self.

In Havi’s own words:

The point [of the Fluent Self] is helping people work through all the overwhelming, sometimes-terrifying stuff that gets in the way of doing what they love and being wildly successful at it. In a smart, mindful way.

I’ve been thinking about starting a poetry blog for a couple of years now, but I never did because I was worried I wouldn’t have enough time to do it “properly” and that I would eventually abandon it. Reading Havi’s amazing Blog Therapy series got me over the hump and made me see that starting a blog could be a great tool for reaching my goal of establishing a consistent and non-should-based writing practice. If you’re thinking of starting a blog and haven’t done it yet or have started a blog, but are thinking of abandoning it, read Havi’s posts. They are amazingly compassionate and healing!

So I guess that’s enough for a first post – THE first post of the Living Poet. I’m seriously excited!

3 Responses to "Hello World – Now I Have a Personal Blog"

Hi, this is a comment.
To delete a comment, just log in, and view the posts’ comments, there you will have the option to edit or delete them.

HI! Welcome to the wonderful word of blogging! πŸ˜€

Havi is fabulous, isn’t she? I haven’t read the whole blogging therapy series yet, but I’ve read some of the articles and they are brilliant. Her whole blog is so awesome and it got me started with the “public blog” thing. (‘Cause I don’t already have THREE journals on Livejournal and one new one on Dreamwidth too? I’m good at journaling, apparently.)

Being there for yourself = SO. DAMNED. HARD. But worth it. I think? Sometimes? Okay, mostly for me, it’s just hard!

Take your time with it, that’s my advice. Meet yourself where you are – that’s what Havi would say, right? πŸ™‚

Hi Lucy,
It’s nice to have a reader. “Meet yourself where you are” is such a good piece of advice. That line keeps popping into my head when I start to should myself about being more together. I get so embarrassed that stuff that feels basic like self esteem and doing the thing you want to do without second guessing it are so hard for me, but that’s where I’m at and over time with a little self-compassion those things will get easier. Reading Havi made me realize that I wasn’t going to be able to force myself to like myself by willpower alone. I feel like I might be going the right direction this time, like I’m gaining some ground. From your posts it seems like you’re going the right direction too. Thanks for stopping by.

Leave a Reply

