Becoming the Living Poet

I Lived Through the Week To Tell You This Tale!

Posted on: May 29, 2009

Nate and the Tornado

When it comes to big life upheavals, the surviving part may not be so fun, but the gloating about having survived sure is.

Last week I spent all my post-work time packing and at 10:15 pm on Friday night my mom flew into San Diego (to my rescue) to be a U-Haul driver so I could drive my car with my neurotic cat unpeacefully nestled in the back seat. We had carefully chosen Memorial Day Weekend for this task because there would be just enough time to pack my apartment into the U-Haul (Saturday), drive it to Norcal (Sunday), and for me to drive back to Southcal to get in my last week of work and clean my now empty apartment (Monday).

I lived to tell the tale and the plan went off without a hitch! To this I say thank you universe, I owe you one.

On another gratitude note, I’m still a little in awe at how supportive my friends and family were during this trying time in my life. So many people stepped up to help me who had so little to gain from such a massive exertion of effort. Perhaps this is the purpose for which ‘thank you’ cards were invented, as a means of expressing the hope that when a simple verbal ‘thank you’ doesn’t hit a high enough mark, a pretty piece of paper will somehow express the sentiment more eloquently.

No sooner had the universe done me a good turn when (Tuesday) the California Supreme Court Justices decided to be spineless cowards and preserve their meaningless titles in the face of right wing pressure, rather than uphold the California constitution and protect the rights of a protected minority class. As a result I was compelled to come out of protest retirement and take to the streets with several thousand other outraged San Diegans and march from Balboa Park to the Hall of Justice. In front of the Hall of Justice we (reported numbers range from 3,000 to 10,000, hard to do a head count from amidst the sea) declared our undiminished commitment to continue the fight for equal rights into 2010 and beyond on a city, state, and national level. It was inspiring in a way that only a moment of desperate straw-grasping for rapidly fading hope can be.

I’d have preferred the celebration block party to the protest myself, but the universe can be pretty capricious at times and rather rudely neglected to ask for my input on the matter.

When I sent out a mass email to let people know about the protest the loss was too painful to process so I turned to Google for a quote that might see us all through our feelings of powerlessness, anger, hurt, and despair.

Hope is important because it can make the present moment less difficult to bear. If we believe that tomorrow will be better, we can bear a hardship today. -Thich Nhat Hanh

Best I could come up with on short notice.

I also completely my last day of work today. I’ll be doing a little bit of contract work for HealthyFeetStore.com and HealthyFeetBlog.com, but very soon those sites will be loved and cherished by another copywriter, with any luck someone with a greater passion for shoes and foot care than I was able to muster.

I’ve been dreading my last day at work for months now. Even though I’m going to graduate school it’s felt as if I might as well be stepping into thin air.

I found this quote from a blog called Explore Truth Challenge after the blog’s author decided to follow me on Twitter. The quote seemed strangely appropriate to the needs of the moment.

Until one is committed, there is hesitancy, the chance to draw back, always ineffectiveness. Concerning all acts of initiative and creation, there is one elementary truth the ignorance of which kills countless ideas and splendid plans: that the moment one definitely commits oneself, then providence moves too. All sorts of things occur to help one that would never otherwise have occurred. A whole stream of events issues from the decision, raising in one’s favor all manner of unforeseen incidents, meetings and material assistance which no man could have dreamed would have come his way. Whatever you can do or dream you can, begin it. Boldness has genius, power and magic in it. Begin it now. – Goethe, Johann Wolfgang Von

After this month nothing is my life will ever be the same. That has been a true statement every month of my life, but the statement feels especially literal right now. Everything is about to change and I’m OK with that. I can handle this. I trust myself.

Leave a Reply

